ITIL® service management

ITIL®, developed in the late 1980s, has been continuously updated and extended and is now the de facto standard for IT infrastructure operation.
ITIL®, the IT infrastructure library, is a collection of articles about best practice projects, comprising five volumes:

  • Continual Service Improvement (CSI)
  • Service Operation (SO)
  • Service Design (SD)
  • Service Transition (ST)
  • Service Strategy (SS)

ITIL describes processes, roles, procedures and processor organizations as well as tools of IT business processes. Systemizing and standardizing IT services play an important role for the overall success of a company's business. The current version 3 (ITIL® V3) from 2011 includes, in addition to the five volumes, an extensive introduction.

ITIL® certification

IT managers and experts can get training from a number of registered institutions and receive certification in three steps:

  1. Foundation Certificate
  2. ITIL® Expert
  3. ITIL® Master

Companies can achieve certification in accordance with  ISO/IEC 20000. In Germany, ITIL® is maintained and updated mainly by itSMF Deutschland e. V. based in Frankfurt am Main. AXELOS has been responsible for international training, marketing and certification since January 1, 2014.
   ITIL® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited.