Citrix Sizing - Citrix Monitoring

Software products from the U.S. company Citrix Systems Inc. are deployed by medium to very large enterprises worldwide to provide applications. Traditional network infrastructures and virtualized or cloud computing infrastructures can be used for this. As a result of Citrix’s market dominance in terminal servers, the company name (a synthetic word for Citrus and UNIX) is often used as a synonym for this technology.

 

Sizing and monitoring

 

Using Citrix products, company employees are provided over the network with the necessary applications or virtual desktops, services and data (application delivery or desktop delivery). Applications need not be installed on end-user systems, and mobile and virtual workplaces are possible.

 

  • Citrix Sizing
    Citrix Sizing is used to help IT departments and serivce providers in rightsizing IT infrastructures: Servers, software, networks and IT componentsare tested for load. Planned changes can be simulated and proactively optimized.

  • Citrix Monitoring
    Citrix monitoring is used for real-time monitoring. Centrally hosted applications are monitored for availability and response time using end-to-end monitoring.
      
  • Tailored software solutions
    SightLine® is best suited for sizing Citrix-based IT environments. CitraTest VU® is designed for sizing Citrix XenApp or XenDesktop servers. And CitraTest APM® is used to monitor the following Citrix products (status: April 2014):

    – CloudPlatform
    – Cloud Portal Business Manager
    – CloudPortal Services Manager
    – CloudGateway
    – Netscale Application Delivery Controller (ADC)
    – VDI-in-a-Box
    – XenApp (formerly Citrix Presentation Server, Citrix Metaframe)
    – XenClient
    – XenDesktop

Citrix Sizing und Citrix Monitoring

Die Softwareprodukte des US-amerikanischen Unternehmens Citrix Systems, Inc. werden weltweit von Konzernen und mittelständischen Unternehmen für die Bereitstellung von Anwendungen eingesetzt. Dazu kann eine klassische Netzwerk-Infrastruktur ebenso genutzt werden wie eine Virtualisierungs- oder Cloud Computing-Infrastruktur. Citrix‘ Marktdominanz im Bereich Terminalserver führt dazu, dass der Unternehmensname (ein Kunstwort aus „Citrus“ und „UNIX“) bisweilen synonym hierfür verwendet wird.

Dimensionierung (Sizing) und Serviceüberwachung (Monitoring)

Mit Hilfe der Citrix-Produkte werden den Mitarbeitern eines Unternehmens die jeweils benötigten Anwendungen oder auch virtuelle Desktops, Dienste und Daten über das Netzwerk zur Verfügung gestellt (Application Delivery bzw. Desktop Delivery). Anwendungen müssen nicht mehr auf den Endgeräten der User installiert sein, mobile und virtuelle Arbeitsplätze sind möglich.

  • Citrix Sizing
    Um IT-Fachbereiche und Service Provider bei der richtigen Dimensionierung der IT-Infrastruktur zu unterstützen, wird das so genannte „Citrix Sizing“ eingesetzt: Server, Software, Netze und andere IT-Komponenten werden hinsichtlich ihrer Belastbarkeit getestet. Geplante Veränderungen können simuliert und damit bereits im Vorfeld optimiert werden.

  • Citrix Monitoring
    Zur Überwachung des laufenden Betriebs dient „Citrix Monitoring“: Die zentral zur Verfügung gestellten Anwendungen werden mittels End-to-End-Monitoring hinsichtlich Verfügbarkeit und Antwortzeit überwacht.
      
  • Passende Softwarelösungen
    SightLine® eignet sich für das Sizing Citrix-basierter IT-Landschaften, CitraTest VU® für das Sizing der Citrix XenApp bzw. XenDesktop Server und CitraTest APM® für das Monitoring folgender Citrix-Produkte (Stand April 2014):

    – CloudPlatform
    – Cloud Portal Business Manager
    – CloudPortal Services Manager
    – CloudGateway
    – Netscale Application Delivery Controller (ADC)
    – VDI-in-a-Box
    – XenApp (vormals Citrix Presentation Server, Citrix Metaframe)
    – XenClient
    – XenDesktop